top of page


There is an urgent need to form Catholics so that they may know God and by knowing God fall in love with Him and live their faith.

Sacraments are means of growing into closer relationship with God, drawing us into holiness. In common par lance we say Sacraments are outward signs of inward grace instituted by Christ to give us grace.
In the words of the Catechism of the Catholic Church, Sacraments are as it were “powers that go forth” from the Body of Christ to heal the wounds of sin and to give us the new life of Christ. (CCC No. 1116)
The Sacrament continues the works which Christ performed during his earthly life (CCC1115) drawing the faithful into a deeper personal relationship with God. Every Sacrament is a personal encounter / meeting / experience of Jesus

Sacraments are actions of the Holy Spirit and are seven in number encompassing the entire span of life.

The Sacraments can be divided into three categories:

I.   Sacraments of initiation: Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist

II.  Sacraments of healing: Penance or Reconciliation and Anointing of the sick

III. Sacraments of service: Marriage and Holy Orders

My dear Parishioners of the Church of Our Lady of the Rosary,
I hope this article of mine on SACRAMENTS will give you a deeper understanding and draw you into a closer union with our wonderful, marvelous God through a more meaningful participation and celebration of the Christian life we are called to.
I am grateful to Fr. Frank Fernandes for his valuable suggestions which I have incorporated.
June 2018
God bless you all
Rev. Dr. Francis Carvalho
bottom of page