top of page


The Sacrament of Holy Orders is composed of three degrees which are organic to the structure of the Church. They are the Episcopate (Bishop), the Presbyterate (priest) and the Diaconate (deacon)

In Episcopal ordination the fullness of the sacrament of Holy Orders is conferred upon a priest. He is ordained a successor of the Apostles and enters the college of bishops. Together with the Pope he is responsible for the entire Church.  In particular the Church appoints him to the offices of teaching, sanctifying and governing. (Youcat 252)

In priestly ordination the Bishop calls down God’s power upon the candidates for ordination. It imprints upon the souls of these men an indelible seal that can never be lost. As a collaborator with his bishop the priest will proclaim the Word of God, administer the Sacraments and above all celebrate the Holy Eucharist. (Youcat 254)

In diaconal ordination the candidate is appointed to a special service within the sacrament of Holy Orders. He represents Christ as the one who came, “not to be served but to serve and to give his life as a ransom for many” (Mt 20:28). In the liturgy of the Word, the altar and of charity the deacon will make himself a servant to all.  (Youcat 255)

All you young men and women who would like to discern your vocation are invited to attend the “QUEST” program conducted by the Diocesan Vocation Service Centre,  Diocesan Pastoral Centre, 4 Kane Road, Bandra  400 050.  

For further details on the various diocesan and religious congregations contact: 
Diocesan Vocation Service Centre,  Diocesan Pastoral Centre, 4 Kane Road, Bandra  400 050.  
Phone Nos. 2927-1217 / -6891; 9820629173 &    2845-0962.

About this Sacrament
Contact details
bottom of page